Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) must develop an emergency response plan, review the plan at least annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens. Plans are developed by LEPCs with stakeholder participation. There is one LEPC for each of the more than 3,000 designated local emergency planning districts. The LEPC membership must include (at a minimum):

  • Elected state and local officials
  • Police, fire, civil defense, and public health professionals
  • Environment, transportation, and hospital officials
  • Facility representatives
  • Representatives from community groups and the media

What Are the Required Elements of a Community Emergency Response Plan?

  • Identification of facilities and transportation routes of extremely hazardous substances
  • Description of emergency response procedures, on and off site
  • Designation of a community coordinator and facility emergency coordinator(s) to implement the plan
  • Outline of emergency notification procedures
  • Description of how to determine the probable affected area and population by releases
  • Description of local emergency equipment and facilities and the persons responsible for them
  • Outline of evacuation plans
  • A training program for emergency responders (including schedules)
  • Methods and schedules for exercising emergency response plans

LEPC Members

Name Representing Organization
Earl J. Eues, Jr. Committee Chair TOHSEP
Kim Beetz Hospitals LA Dept. of Health, Region 3
Dennis Bergeron Transportation LA State Police Troop C
Mark Boudreaux Communications 911 Communications
Dana Coleman Law Enforcement Houma Police Department
Russell DiSalvo Fire Coteau Fire District
Barry Domangue Transportation LA State Police Troop C
Gordon Dove Parish Official Terrebonne Parish President
Kayla Guerrero Emergency Response Coordinator LA Dept of Health
Darrin Guidry Councilman Terrebonne Parish Council
Alan Hunsberger Representative Shell Pipeline
Jerry Larpenter Law Enforcement Terrebonne Parish Sheriff's Department
Al Ledet Representative BP
Thomas Long HAZMAT Specialist TOHSEP
Jack Moore Schools Terrebonne Parish School Board
Christy Naquin Service Organization SCIA
Pam Roussel Regional Emergency Management GOHSEP
Brian Rushing Print & Broadcast Media Rushing Media
Joe Szush Emergency Medical Services Acadian Ambulance
Keith Ward Fire Houma Fire Department
Benjamin Walker Emergency Management TOHSEP
Jerome Zeringue State Official State Senator